Sonic Mania Gameplay Shows Competition, Time Trial and Special Stages

Sonic Mania comes to the Nintendo Switch, PS4, Xbox One and PC next week in digital form and SEGA have been busy promoting their blue mascot with a wave of new gameplay trailers and details; specifically Competition and Time Trial modes, both of which made their debut within Sonic The Hedgehoe 2, will be making their return in Sonic Mania – which is of course a brand new ‘retro HD instalment’ into the franchise.

Competition and Time Trial modes werent the only feature mentioned either as Special Stages, the stages used for collecting the Chaos Emeralds after collecting 50 gold rings and hitting a checkpoint within a level, will also be returning. This time the Special stages are based upon the levels found within Sonic the Hedgehog 2 – but this time with some slight differences.

You can view the gameplay modes yourself in the gameplay videos below:

Competition Mode:

Time Trial & Bonus Stages:

Sonic Mania will be available as a digital download from the 15th August 2017 for the Xbox One, PS4, Nintendo Switch and PC.


About Scott Emsen
Scott is the Founder and Executive Editor of AnimeBlurayUK but in the past he has produced content for ZOMGPlay, Rice Digital and Funstock and was once a Community Moderator for the Nokia N-Gage forums. Based in the UK, he loves anything related to Games & Anime and in In his spare time you'll mostly find him playing on one of his many gaming consoles; namely the Nintendo Switch and PlayStation 4.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: