Crunchyroll Announces Streaming of New Shows and Fan-Favourite Films

At the recent Crunchyroll Expo, an event based in North American that saw the anime distributor and streaming giant celebrate all things anime, it was announced during the Crunchyroll Industry Panel that a wide variety of new shows, and some fan-favourite films, will soon be making their way to the video-on-demand platform.

In this case iconic films such as AKIRA, Wolf Children, and Your Name will be added to the platform alongside newcomers such as Jujutsu Kaisen 0, Sing a Bit of Harmony, which has still yet to receive a home video release, and Josee, the Tiger, and the Fish, which was recently released on Blu-Ray and DVD in the UK via Anime Limited. As Crunchyroll stream worldwide, and focus mostly on the American market, it’s not known how many of these films will be made available to stream in the UK, but the full list of films coming to Crunchyroll are as follows:

  • Afro Samurai: Resurrection
  • Black Butler
  • Code Geass
  • Fairy Tail
  • FREE!
  • Josee, the Tiger and the Fish
  • Jujutsu Kaisen 0
  • Psycho-Pass
  • Sing a bit of Harmony
  • The Boy and the Beast
  • The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
  • The Stranger by the Shore
  • Your Name
  • Wolf Children

In addition to the films of films due to be added to the platform in the near future, with Jujutsu Kaisen 0 planned for a 21st September 2022 release, Crunchyroll also revealed a variety of titles they will be offering for simulcast streaming.

Tower of God – 2nd Season: Season two of the dark fantasy series will follow Bam as he continues his journey through the mysterious tower.

My One-Hit Kill Sister: Based on the web novel and manga Isekai One Turn Kill Nee-san: Ane Dо̄han no Isekai Seikatsu Hajimemashita, written by Konoe, the anime adaptation, entitled My One-Hit Kill Sister, is headed to Crunchyroll.

Reborn to Master the Blade: From Hero-King to Extraordinary Squire: Adapted from the light novel and manga written by Hayaken, the anime series from Studio Comet finds Inglis, who is reborn into a beautiful girl, now free from a king’s burden and is being raised by renowned knights and begins focusing on mastering the martial arts.

The Human Crazy University: Coming this October, Crunchyroll will take audiences to the The Human Crazy University, where Satake Hirofumi, an “Undeadman” on death row, is sent for the murder of his fiancée and who has survived many desperate situations.

The Fruit of Evolution 2: Before I Knew It, My Life Had It Made: Hiiragi Seiichi’s new life of success continues in the world of swords and sorcery he was transported with the second season of The Fruit of Evolution: Before I Knew It, My Life Had It Made comes to Crunchyroll in January 2023.

The Aristocrat’s Otherworldly Adventure: Serving Gods Who Go Too Far: After being reincarnated as Cain von Silford, the third son of an aristocratic family, Shiina Kazuya finds himself in chaotic new beginnings when the gods grant him several divine blessings on his fifth birthday that could only be described as a little overkill.

The Reincarnation Of The Strongest Exorcist In Another World: The story of an unrivaled genius exorcist, Haruyoshi Kuga, begins as he seeks to find happiness in a new fantasy world he reincarnates himself into.

Reborn as a Vending Machine, I Now Wander the Dungeon: What would you do if you couldn’t move or speak and were stuck in a dungeon, only to find out you’ve been turned into a vending machine? The anime series adaptation, Reborn as a Vending Machine, I Now Wander the Dungeon, based on the work by writer Hirukuma, comes to Crunchyroll to answer that question.

Sugar Apple Fairy Tale – In a world unkind to fae folk, Anne Halford seeks to spark a friendship with her new fairy bodyguard, Chalie. Based on the light novel and manga series of the same name, written by Miri Mikawa, Sugar Apple Fairy Tale will be coming to Crunchyroll.

Our Last Crusade or the Rise of a New World Season 2 – The much anticipated sequel to Our Last Crusade or the Rise of a New World, from studio Silver Linkis coming to Crunchyroll.

I’m the Villainess, So I’m Taming the Final Boss – Arriving this fall to Crunchyroll, from Maho Film and directed by Kumiko Habara, the anime adaptation of I’m the Villainess, So I’m Taming the Final Boss, based on the series written by Sarasa Nagase, follows Aileen Lauren Dautriche who recalls her previous life and discovers she’s in an otome game entitled, “Regalia of Saints, Demons, and Maidens,” where she is the villainess who gets in the way of the main character’s romance. But Aileen, knowing the outcome of the game, has other plans for her fate.

The tale of outcasts: Heading to Crunchyroll in 2023.

My Hero Academia – Season 6: With Bakugo and Todoroki, Deku is doing his work-study at the office of the number one hero, Endeavor. Working hard in the best possible environment, he is growing as a hero and using Blackwhip, a new Quirk that was hiding in One For All. Meanwhile, Tomura Shigaraki from the League of Villains clashes against the Metahuman Liberation Army led by Re-Destro. While he’s being driven into a corner fighting Re-Destro, he recovers forgotten memories of his terrible childhood and is awakened. He seizes the Metahuman Liberation Army, expands its influence, and now desires a new power for himself to destroy everything.

Crunchyroll have also confirmed that a third season of The Rising of Shield Hero is in production and that it will be coming to Crunchyroll when ready. In the meantime second season of the series is currently being simulcast streamed on Crunchyroll.

About Scott Emsen
Scott is the Founder and Executive Editor of AnimeBlurayUK but in the past he has produced content for ZOMGPlay, Rice Digital and Funstock and was once a Community Moderator for the Nokia N-Gage forums. Based in the UK, he loves anything related to Games & Anime and in In his spare time you'll mostly find him playing on one of his many gaming consoles; namely the Nintendo Switch and PlayStation 4.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: